Friday, July 6, 2012

Tennessee Titans: Prime Sleeper in 2012

If he's this elusive again, look out
Tennessee Titans (2011 record: 9-7)

What went wrong?: Unlike the previous four entries into the sleeper category, the Titans are the only team that didn’t regress from 2010 to 2011.

Instead, they improved by three wins in their first year with Titan/Oiler-for-Life Mike Munchak as head coach, and were the only team with a winning record to miss the playoffs.

They even had the same regular season record as the Super Bowl Champion New York Giants.

Tennessee’s overall upswing under Munchak had to unfortunately coincide with the year that the Houston Texans finally assembled a playoff juggernaut.

New defensive coordinator Wade Phillips’ drastic turnaround of Houston’s D (26.7 PPG allowed in 2010, 17.4 in 2011) was coupled with a combined 2,166 rushing yards and 14 rushing TDs from Arian Foster and Ben Tate.

Even hampered by injuries, the Texans displayed enough all-around efficiency to go 10-6 (including seven straight wins at one point), capture the division in week fourteen with a sixth-round rookie quarterback in TJ Yates, and make it to the Divisional Round of the playoffs.

To read the rest of this article at Football Nation, click here

No comments:

Post a Comment